Slip Into Something Victorian

Home » Slang » Victorian Slang of the Week

Victorian Slang of the Week

Chippy–a sexually promiscuous woman, a prostitute, 1886, though the end of the century and into the 20th century.

I have never heard of this.  Generally I try to avoid real profanity in my weekly posts, but I’m making an exception to this, because I was kind of floored.  I’m going to use the actual sentence in the book for an example instead of making up one of my own, from Bangin’on Rhine, “Full many a chippy had he banged.”   Banged, used that way, I had considered modern terminology.  Apparently I am wrong.  It goes back to the 1700’s.  However, there are very few references in the 19th century.  Mostly it’s a 20th century use, where as chippy does seem to be a late 19th century slang term.

1 Comment

  1. I’m also surprised, which is why I love your educational posts. Thanks, Denise.

Leave a Reply

