Slip Into Something Victorian

Home » Slang » Victorian Slang of the Week

Victorian Slang of the Week

century–a hundred dollar bill. This is interesting. I remember trying to find “grand” for the gambler hero in The Wild One, but that term wasn’t used in reference to 1,000 until the 20th century. However, I could have used century. No worries, I will use it in the future!  From 1859. “Feeling lucky, I threw half a century into the pot.” The term “century note” however, was not used until 1908.

1 Comment

  1. I hadn’t heard that term, Denise. I’ve heard a C-note. Wish I had a few. LOL

Leave a Reply

