Slip Into Something Victorian

Home » Uncategorized » Guest Blogger, Anne Whitfield

Guest Blogger, Anne Whitfield

Welcome today to our guest blogger Anne Whitfield!  We’ve got a few questions for you Anne!

What part of the Victorian era/setting do you write in? What is it about this era that intrigues you? 

I write mainly in the 1860s – 1870s, and also in the 1890s. The 60s- 70s are such a period of change. Different inventions were emerging at a rapid rate to make peoples’ lives easier. The industrial Revolution was really hitting its stride and factories were springing up everywhere in England. Small towns and villages suddenly became the hives of industry once a mill or factory was built. The larger towns became over populated and the middle classes rose in prominence, which is fascinating. Although it was a grim time for the poor, it gives authors a wide scope to play with, and many possibilities for plots.

 Where do you get your information?

 I have a lot of research books on England and the Victorian era, from fashion to coal mining. I enjoy reading personal accounts of those times, like diaries. The internet is wonderful, and I also used to live in England. My family are from Yorkshire. I read historical fiction from age 14. So combined reading of fiction and non-fiction, of visiting actual places and absorbing as much as I can about the period, helps me to write it. I’m still learning. I don’t think writers ever stop learning.

 What are you working on now/what’s next for you?

 Apart from promoting The House of Women which comes out in June, I’m currently re-editing some older books that are now out of print and hopefully I’ll find a publisher for them soon. I do have a free short story available on my publisher’s website and next year will see the re-release of an Australian historical titled, A Noble Place.

I’m also writing another historical set in Yorkshire and again in the Victorian era.

 Can you tell us a little about your upcoming release?

The House of Women is a favourite book of mine. I love the idea of seven daughters, and Grace the eldest is the one who has to deal with all the trials and tribulations that crop up, especially when their parents are selfish individuals. Aside from the family troubles, Grace has to deal with the return of an old love, an attentive young butler, and a handsome coalminer. There’s a lot going on for her!

And here’s an excerpt from The House of Women:

Grace blinked to clear her frozen mind as her mother and Verity climbed the staircase. If Verity was here then was William here too? Movement at the door caused Grace to close her eyes. She couldn’t bring herself to open them and see the one man she’d longed for since she was sixteen.

‘Miss Woodruff?’ Doyle inquired at her shoulder.

Startled, she spun to face him, but she was blind to him, blind to everything but the sensation of having William here. Crazily, she wondered if she would swoon like a maiden aunt.

Doyle’s hand reached out, but he quickly tucked it behind his back. ‘What is it, Miss Woodruff?’

Grace swallowed, feeling the fine hairs on her arms and nape prickle. He is here.

‘Good evening, Grace.’

At the sound of William’s deep velvety voice, her heart stopped beating, only to start again at a rapid pace. Her stomach clenched and her legs felt unable to support her anymore. Slowly, she swivelled to gaze into William’s blue-green eyes and knew she was lost again. William smiled his captivating smile. He had aged, no, matured since their last meeting. He looked leaner, but broader in the shoulders. There was an aura about him, something that females of any age wanted. He made all other men around him seem insignificant. A magnetism, a mystical air surrounded him, catching Grace in its clutches once more.

You can learn more about Anne and her books, and purchase them here:

http://www.annewhitfield.com/TheHouseofWomen.html 

Thanks for stopping by, Anne!

8 Comments

  1. Hi, Anne! Great post and loved the excerpt! I love the Victorian era and write in the same basic time period, but of course I’m writing from the American side of the pond.

    Best of luck with your new release and on finding a publisher for your older ones!

  2. Caroline Clemmons says:

    Anne, wonderful excerpt and very intriguing. As I’m a member of this blog, obviously I love books set in the Victorian era. I have never lived there, but love Yorkshire, too. Can’t wait until your book is released!

  3. Hi Anne. Lovely to have you here with us today. I love the concept of your story. My grandmother was one of nine daughters and I’ve often wondered what living in a house of that many sisters would be like.

    That time period is a favorite of mine. Best of luck with a high volume of sales.

  4. Hi Anne,
    Great to have you post on our blog today. Your story sounds like a wonderful Victorian. I’ve never been to England but my parents and my daughter have more than once, and they enjoyed the Yorkshire area. I hope to visit there too.
    Good luck with your story of seven sisters!

  5. Thanks you so much for your warm welcome!
    Bloggers that love the Victorian era sounds like the best place for me to be!
    Best wishes,
    Anne.~

  6. I really enjoyed this: it is so tempting. I wish I could write good historical fiction like this. Perhaps I should try – I did write a novella based on the history of photography in Belgium and enjoyed it enormously. Should I do more? That is the question.

  7. Hi Anne, congrats on the coming new release. I enjoyed your other books very much.

  8. Hi Anne,
    What a great post. You are such a talented author in many genres. I loved your excerpt. The best of luck with ‘The House of Women’, I’m sure it will be a great success.

    Sandie

Leave a Reply

