A Little Late But…

Seems life got in the way and, as a result, I missed my last turn to post here on Slip Into Something Victorian, but I wanted to give a shout out, because my Civil War romance, Confederate Rose took 2nd place in the historical category of the 2010 New England Reader’s Choice Bean Pot Contest!
I’m so proud that the judges liked my story of an Irish immigrant turned woman soldier. My heroine Katie Rose O’Reilly represents all the women soldiers who fought for both sides, disguised as men, in the American Civil War.
Here’s an excerpt from the book:
 
“I’m hating to have to say it, since I’d accused you of being a thief, but I stole something from you.” She looked away.
 
“What could you…?” He racked his mind trying to figure out what she could have taken.
 
“I went through yer pack.”
 
“In Patrick’s tent?”
 
“No, weeks ago back at the cabin. I went through it to try to learn more about you when you were in the stable. I found a letter and took it but didn’t have time to read it until now.”
 
Alex swallowed.
 
“It was a Federal dispatch. Yer a Yankee.”
His chest tightened. No wonder he’d been unable to find the dispatch. She’d had it all along. “What do you intend to do?” He hoped she wouldn’t discover his real motive. He could never harm her.

“You lied to me the whole time,” she said, disbelief marring her delicate features.

He exhaled the breath he’d held. “I had no choice.”

“If I’d known you to be a Yankee, I’d have shot you the first chance I got.” Her eyes glittered in the light of the fire. “You touched me…pretended to care fer me. And all the while, you lied to me.”

The raw hurt on her face broke his heart. He’d deceived her. He couldn’t deny it. “What do you intend to do?” he asked again.

She shook her head slowly. “I’m sorry, Alex, but ’tis me
duty to turn you in.”

I love writing stories of Victorian heroines who represent the women who lived during this innovative era. After the Civil War, technological and social advances that began as a result of necessary innovations during the war such as, better weaponry, better transportation and communication methods, advances in photography… as well as changes in the status of women, who left their homes to serve as nurses, fight as soldiers and run charitable functions to aid the soldiers and the war.

My newest work in progress takes place five years after the war. My heroine, who’d served as a nurse during the war, is now in the fight of her life to earn respect as a female physician. Though women practiced medicine in that time period, it was rare, although not impossible, for a woman to attend medical school.

To purchase Confederate Rose http://www.thewildrosepress.com/confederate-rose-p-3672.html?zenid=cadea4753a53747655c8ad1995a226cd

Or visit my website to learn more about all my other books and stories at http://susanmacatee.com

4 thoughts on “A Little Late But…”

  1. Thanks, Carolyn! I’m trying to expose my Civil War romances to as many people as possible to show the genre isnt’ all Gone With the Wind. But now, I feel I have to move beyond CW in a hope to capture reader’s or I should say buyer’s attentions.

Leave a Reply

