Slip Into Something Victorian

Home » book promotion » Promotion

Promotion

I haven’t posted a blog for writers here for a while, so I thought I’d post one about how I handle promoting all my new releases.

I’m fairly new to book promotion. My first release, a time travel romance, came out last July. But before I even had a completed manuscript, I promoted my name and the type of stories I planned to write.

The most important thing you need is an author website. At the time I set mine up, I had no web savvy at all and couldn’t afford to pay anyone else to do a site for me. I used Yahoo sitebuilder. It was low priced, gave me software so I could set the site up by myself, and I can also maintain it and make changes as needed. At first I used the site to promote my name and type of stories I was working on. Now, it showcases my published books and stories with links to where readers can buy a copy.

Another promo tool I used when I was pre-pubbed and still use is blogs. I’m a member of another group blog beside this one and I have an individual blog, plus blog regularly on other sites, like Goodreads and Amazon.com in the published author program. I also look for sites where I can guest blog when I have a new release coming out.I also comment on other’s blogs. This gets my name out and sometimes blog readers click on my name and end up on my site.

Another tool I use is Yahoo promotion loops where I regularly post excerpts of all the books and stories I have out, since they’re all under a year from publication.

A newer promo method I’ve just started, now that I’m pubbed, is to enter my published books on contests. On my first try, my book was chosen as a finalist and I’m awaiting word on whether I’ll take 1st, 2nd or 3rd place.

I’ve also tried social networking, but only on a small time basis, like ning groups. I’m not sure how beneficial they are, since I have limited time to socialize on them. Not ready for anything like Facebook or MySpace either, though other writers use them.The main thing is to find what works for you. What you can afford and which methods won’t take away too much of your time, so you can keep on writing.

9 Comments

  1. Cat Lindler says:

    Great post. I have a website and have blogged on other’s sites, but how do you sign up for blogging on Amazon.com?

  2. Hi, Cat!

    You have to set up an author page on Amazon, then you can blog. I think as long as you have one book selling on Amazon, you can do an author promo page.

  3. Cara Preston says:

    Thanks for the great tips. It’s always helpful to see how other author’s promote their books.

    Cara Preston- author of Pickup Lines from a Pickup Truck

    and

    Another Place and Time- both at Red Rose Publishing

  4. Thanks, Cara! There are so many ways to promote books. Each author has to learn what works best for them.

    Thanks for stopping by!

  5. I can’t wait to have a book to promote some day before I die. 🙂 I do have a website and put excerpts from my stories up. I felt it was important to get my name known as early as possible. I also post on blogs and am membership chair for From the Heart and everyone sees my name with every new member. Of course, if I don’t every sell it will be for not, but one can always be hopeful. 🙂

  6. Cynthia Owens says:

    Hi Susan, great tips. I’ve only recently set up an author page at Amazon, so I haven’t started blogging yet, but I plan to do so soon.

    Another promo tool that I use is the signature line at the bottom of all my e-mails. It has a link to my website and the tag line for my upcoming release. I don’t know how effective it is, but I do know that last year, when I e-mailed the caretaker of the cottage we rented in Ireland, he and his wife did check out my website. He actually told me so, and since he saw that I was into Irish mythology and legends, he suggested several local attractions for me to check out.

  7. Hi, Paisley and Cynthia!

    I did the same thing before I was published, Paisley. It’s important to not only get your name out there, but also have samples of your writing, because editors often take a look when you submit something to them.

    And, Cynthia, that’s right about the sig lines. I do that myself, but by now it’s such an automatic thing, I didn’t even give it a thought. LOL.

  8. carolyndee says:

    Susan and others who commented, Great tips. I haven’t set up an author page at Amazon yet. Now I realize I’m not utilizing Goodreads either. Thanks for the nudge in the right direction. As per Cynthia, the titles and website in my sig line have garnered comments. People have asked me about my books, which doesn’t mean a sale. But this week at the book club I attend, one of the members asked me to sign books. So, that free promotion worked at least once.

    Caroline Clemmons

  9. Hi, Caroline! I know… there are so many ways to promote yourself and your books, it can make your head spin. And it’s hard to know which have any effect on sales. But it always helps if readers have at least heard of you. LOL.

Leave a Reply

