Slip Into Something Victorian

Home » Uncategorized » Victorian Slang of the Week

Victorian Slang of the Week

Baboon—resembling a baboon in ugliness, stupidity or primitive behavior.  1835.  One quote referred to President Lincoln as the “Illinois Baboon”

*Update*

It occurred to me that this might come across as a sort of racial slur.  I certainly didn’t intend it when I put up my slang of the week.   It may be worth discussion, however.   For all that I love the era, and it seems to me that the people at least wished to be more mannerly and civil (even it they didn’t always accomplish it), slurs of this nature–racial, anti-feminist and religious–seemed to abound.  At least more than we would allow today.   To ignore them is historically inaccurate.  On the other hand, writers should be sensitive to the people who were hurt by such displays.  So how do we do this?  Anyone have any suggestions?

2 Comments

  1. carolyndee says:

    Keep that book handy, Dee. I depend on you for answers. LOL

    Caroline

  2. Denise Eagan says:

    I’ve got it Caroline. It’s sitting right next to me, tempting me to explore slang instead of cut words for this manuscript. I’ve got a book on train travel too! It’s calling to me as well. You did a blog post on that, right? I want to re-read it.

    But first, it’s the work.

Leave a Reply

