Slip Into Something Victorian

Home » Victorian Extravaganza » Moonlight Desperado

Moonlight Desperado

BRAINSTORMING ROMANCE FICTION WITH HISTORICAL FACTS

As a writer, brainstorming my historical romances begins with the question, “What if?” Many writers come up with their stories this way. It can be fun. I  usually start with the basic character of both the hero and heroine. Next comes their goals, and what they want to accomplish. And the conflict follows: what if the story takes place after the Civil War, in a small town in Texas? What if the historical facts I use include General Shelby, who led his Confederate forces across Texas to Mexico after the war, plagued by horse thieves for most of the way? What if the hero from Texas actually joined the northern army? What if he met General Shelby in San Antonio, and over drinks in a local bar he agreed to help the general solve his horse thief problems? What if the hero’s a werewolf and he joins a gang of raiders to discover if they’re the horse thieves? What if the raiders are guys he knew growing up? What if they’re also werewolves?  What if they stop one night at the home of the heroine? What if her parents are out of town?

In my werewolf western historical, Moonlight Desperado,  out now at Siren-Bookstrand Publishing, the hero’s original goal is inspired by actual incidents in Texas history. Besides the historical facts about General Shelby, I was inspired by a family story that happened after the Civil War and involved my great great grandmother. Raiders passing through Texas stopped at her home and demanded bedding to sleep on in her yard. Of course the real life characters have been changed in my story, Moonlight Desperado.

While researching this time period in Texas, I found an article about General Shelby passing through Texas on his way to Mexico. He did stop in San Antonio for a short time. In a book I browsed through at the local library, a historian recounts the devilish time General Shelby suffered from horse thieves stealing their horses at night. The year that General Shelby crossed Texas turned out to be the same year my great great grandmother was ordered by raiders to provide bedding for them. The same raiders later came back and demanded money from her at gunpoint.

With brainstorming, my hero took shape, so to speak, as a spy for General Shelby, trying to discover the men stealing the General’s horses. My heroine became the woman alone that night with two little sisters asleep upstairs. Ordered to provide bedding for the raiders, she stands up to the men, including the hero, unaware they’re shape shifters.

I find it challenging to incorporate historical facts within my fictional romances. I hope you’ll look for Moonlight Desperado out now at www.sirenbookstrand.com and enjoy reading this story about Captain Craig Wolfe and Mary Ann Beauclere.

Here’s a blurb:

In Texas after the Civil War, Mary Ann Beauclere is imprisoned by soldiers turned raiders. Outraged when Captain Craig Wolfe steals a kiss, and more, in front of the men, she follows his orders, desperate to protect her little sisters asleep upstairs.  The outlaws demand bedding and food. Captain Wolfe helps her, and she softens toward the desperado, allowing his kisses, drawn to him as to no other.

Confederate spy, Craig despairs of finding his life mate.  Hiding his assignment from the raiders, he only intends to protect Miss Beauclere, until he recognizes Mary Ann as the woman he will love forever.  Her courage tempts him to dream of a future together.  Will she love him, a werewolf?  If not, he’ll spend his life alone.  When Craig claims her as his life mate, secret identities and a vicious pack member threaten their future and their lives.  Can they save each other?

If you leave a comment on this post today, January 12, 2010, you’ll be entered in a drawing to win a PDF copy of Moonlight Desperado.

www.JeanmarieHamilton.com

http://www.bookstrand.com/user/278905

12 Comments

  1. Denise Eagan says:

    Sounds like a great story, Jeanmarie! I’m always so jealous of people who have family stories of that era. It must make the research so much more interesting when you can see your own family in it.

  2. Isabel Roman says:

    Great information, Jeanmarie. I have this in my TBR pile and will get to it sooner rather than later. I’m with Dee, I’m jealous of family histories you can use in your stories.

  3. This sounds great, Jeanmarie! I already have a copy in my files, just haven’t had time to read it yet.

  4. Joan K. Maze says:

    Your book sounds so intresting. I recently became interested in shapeshifter stories and love them. I’ve never found one about the old west before. I’d love to read yours and your name will be put on my list of authors.

    Joan

  5. Cheryl says:

    Hi Jeanmarie,

    Well, I DON’T have it yet and would love to read it! LOL I also write westerns but have not ever written any shapeshifters or werewolves. That is quite a feat. Do you live in Texas? I’m in Oklahoma. I’ve got some family history stories like that to draw from, and am working on a novel right now incorporating some of those stories. I love doing that, don’t you? It’s fun to imagine our characters having the traits that perhaps our ancestors had. Sounds like a wonderful story!
    Cheryl

  6. Denise, Susan, and Isabel,
    Thanks so much for coming by my blog today. You might be surprised what stories you could find about your family. It takes some research at times, but it’s fun to see what you can discover. And fuel for stories besides. 😉

  7. Joan,
    Thanks for adding my story to your list. They are fun to read, aren’t they? I hope you’ll enjoy reading Moonlight Desperado. It’s exciting to write about the bad boys of shapeshifting. 😉

    Jeanmarie

  8. Hi Cheryl!
    Great to have you drop by. Yes, I live in Texas, westernmost tip. The history which inspired my story, Moonlight Desperado, took place in central Texas near San Antonio and the Medina River. It’s a beautiful area with moss covered trees. My Texas family lived in that area in the 1800s. Lots of adventures to draw on there. 🙂
    I’m so glad you’d like to read my book. Congratulations on your new book too.

    Jeanmarie

  9. I never consciously thought about how I start my story with the “what ifs” because stories are always popping into my head and I just have to pull them apart. It does sound like a logical way to explain the process. Best of luck in all of your stories, Jeanmarie. You are a great writer.

  10. Paisley,
    Thanks so much for your good words and good wishes.
    Actually one scene usually pops into my head and then I start asking what if. 😉

    Jeanmarie

  11. Elizabeth says:

    THESE BOOKS ARE REALLY SUBMITTING S
    AND THESE BOOKS ARE GOOD =[

  12. Cheryl, congrats! You’re the winner of the Moonlight Desperado giveaway!
    Please contact me at jmhamilton3@att.net so I can send you the giveaway download of this shapeshifter romance.
    🙂
    Jeanmarie

    .

Leave a Reply

