Slip Into Something Victorian

Home » Civil War romance » Time travel romance and reenacting

Time travel romance and reenacting

When I started reading romance years ago, one of my favorite genres was time travel. The idea of a modern day heroine or hero going back in time to meet someone of a different era, really appealed to me.
And, in a way, by reenacting the Civil War, I do a bit of time travel on those weekends when I don hoops, my corset and bonnet and play at living in the 1860s.

In my Civil War time travel, Erin’s Rebel, I drew on my own experiences while reenacting to get a feel for what my heroine would experience when she’s sent back in time to find herself trapped in a Confederate army camp. I used first hand knowledge of dress, camp conditions, right down to bathroom facilities to transport readers, right along with my modern day heroine, to the grueling day to day life in a Civil War camp.

 

 

I also was able to pick my husband’s brain, since he does military reenacting. And watching the battle scenarios, also gave me visual fodder for my military scenes.

In the opening of Erin’s Rebel, when my heroine wakes after a car accident, she actually thinks she’s been taken to a reenactment camp instead of a hospital at first. Here’s a short scene where she’s asking the camp surgeon if he has a cell phone.

But another thought sent a chill down her spine. What had happened to her car? It could still be back on the road, or already been towed. The vehicle would be traced to her, and her mother would be notified as next of kin. Her mom would be frantic when the police can’t locate her.
Her cell phone must still be in the car, along with the rest of her belongings. But where were her clothes?

“Listen, Mr.—ah—Doc,” she said. “I need to make a phone call. My mother will be worried sick. I guess I should call the local police too.”

His brow furrowed. “I thought you said your mother lived in Ireland. And what in tarnation is a phone call?”

She sighed in exasperation. “Don’t you have a cell phone?”

A blank expression took over his face.

“I’ve heard you re-enactors can be strict, but there must be a pay phone somewhere around here.”

He shook his head. “You should rest, ma’am. I’ll mix up a headache powder for you. You’ll feel a mite better once you get some sleep.”

It’s only after she sees the hero for the first time that she starts to realize she’s not in Kansas anymore.

Despite the headaches of getting a time travel right, I had a lot of fun writing this story. And reviewers find the story very realistic.

Here’s a short quote from my latest review at TwoLips Reviews:

“Ms. Macatee sent me on quite an adventure in her story from the moment the heroine ran off the road. Erin’s Rebel is rich in history and mystery. Every time I thought I had the book figured out, Ms. Macatee came up with a new twist and another piece of the puzzle. I was delighted to find a time travel with a real reason for going back in time. Anyone who loves history, time travel and stories with unexpected twists will definitely enjoy this awesome book.”

Read full review here: http://www.twolipsreviews.com/content/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=4613&Itemid=36

To read the opening chapters of Erin’s Rebel, visit my website at www.susanmacatee.com/erinsrebel.html

I also have links to my reviews on my website at www.susanmacatee.com/mybooks.html

And if you leave a comment on this post, you’ll be entered in a drawing to win a pdf copy of Erin’s Rebel.

 
14 Comments

  1. Great post very interesting

    Melinda

  2. Colleen M says:

    This book sounds really interesting – most time travels I’ve read have sent the heroine way far back – I think it would be really fun to read a story where she’s sent back to a very big turning point in our nation’s history.

    Best of luck!! Colleen 🙂

  3. Thanks for stopping by, Melinda and Colleen!
    I had a ball writing this one after I figured out the logistics of making a time travel seem real. LOL.

    Being able to stand on the actual battlefields where some of the battles in my story were fought really spiked my imagination.

  4. […] Read the rest here: Time travel romance and reenacting « Slip Into Something Victorian […]

  5. Mary Ricksen says:

    Boy do I want to read this. Holy Moley! It sounds phenomenal!
    This looks like one fabulous read!

  6. Susan, it boggles my mind the way your characters come alive in a different time period. It’s so real, I felt like I was there. You’re a wonderful writer.

    Jeanmarie

  7. What a great review for you timetravel, Susan. I have always been intrigued by that time period. What a time in the history of this country…

  8. Thanks, Mary, Jeanmarie and Paisley!

    Erin’s Rebel is the book of my heart. It took me over a year to write it, longer to revise and find a publisher for it. And I’m so gratified right now to have so many wonderful reviews coming in for it. It’s like Christmas all over again!! LOL.

  9. Sara Rodriguez says:

    Hi Susan, What is that saying ~ you can’t be too rich or have too many Christmases? It sounds like you had a ‘real’ adventure writing this story. I’m especially intrigued by the “unexpected twists” mentioned by 2Lips!
    Best of luck!

  10. LOL, Sara! It means…after my experiences with contest judges for the pre-pubbed version, I wasn’t sure what to expect when the reviewers got hold of it. I had a lot of high and low scores from judges. They either loved or hated it.

  11. Hi Susan,

    Great post, as I think I have mentioned to you before I love civil war era stories. You cetainly look realistic, hubby also, in your “costumes”

    Regards
    Margaret

  12. Interesting post, Susan. I love the picture of you in 1860s regalia. I’m intrigued by the premise of your and will check it out.

  13. Thanks for stopping by Margaret and Keena! That is my favorite camp photo of the two of us.

    I’ll be announcing the winner of the pdf copy shortly. Good luck, everyone!

  14. I’ve held my drawing and chosen a winner. It’s Sara Rodriguez!

    Congratulations, Sara! Email me at susanmacatee@aol.com so I can send your prize!

Leave a Reply

