Release Day for Confederate Rose!!

ConfederateRose_w3122_300My latest Civil War romance, Confederate Rose, officially released today at The Wild Rose Press.

Disguised as a man to serve with her husband as a soldier in the Confederate Army, Irish immigrant, Katie Rose O’Reilly, vows to remain in the ranks and seek revenge on Yankees after her husband is killed at Sharpsburg. As she’s transporting mail from Richmond back to camp, a stranger startles her, causing her to fall and almost drown in a swollen stream.

Southerner Alexander Hart, a Yankee spy, saves Katie from drowning, then nurses her through a resulting fever. He must keep his identity secret from the beautiful Rebel soldier even as he finds himself falling in love with her.

Katie falls in love with the caring gentlemen stranger, only to later discover he’s the enemy. Heartbroken, she turns him in to the Confederates, but then questions her goals and beliefs. Is it possible to put aside her quest for revenge to save the man she loves?

Excerpt:
“What? Are you telling me you were kissing him?” His blood heated at the thought of her moving on to another man.

“I was tryin’ to escape.”

“By kissing him?”

“Aye.” Anger flashed in her eyes. “And it was working until you came along and hit the poor lad.”

He grasped her forearm and pulled her from the guardhouse. They couldn’t stay here debating. “Come on, we’ve got to get out of camp. I fear I’ve compromised my cover.”

“But what about Nate?” she protested. “You may have killed him.”

Sighing, Alex knelt and felt for a pulse. The lad’s breathing was regular, his pulse steady. “Reckon he’ll be out for awhile, but aside from a nasty headache and some bruising, he should be all right.” He rose and glanced into the guardhouse. “They’ll reckon you clobbered him when he came for your dinner plate.” He caught her worried gaze. “Now, let’s skedaddle.”

She nodded, but eyed him again. “Why are you dressed as a priest?”

“It’s a disguise. I’m ministering to the Rebel soldiers.” His eyes roved to the white vee of her bosom. “Button your shirt before we go. We don’t want to attract any more attention.”

Read the opening chapters at my website:  www.susanmacatee.com/confederateroseone.html

And if you leave a comment to this post today, you’ll be entered in a drawing to win a pdf download of Confederate Rose. Winner will be announced here tomorrow.

21 thoughts on “Release Day for Confederate Rose!!”

  1. Susan,

    This looks like another fantastic story!! When I saw the email I wanted to let you know that I have read Erin’s Rebel and really enjoyed it. Since, I am from the South, I enjoy Civil War romance books!! Good luck with this one.

  2. hi Susan, congratulatoins on this terrific story! I can’t wait to read it. I think I’ve been a Civil War romance junkie ever since reading GWTW when I was about fifteen. Sigh. Best of luck with sales and future books! oxoxox

    Warm hugs,
    ~Tanya

  3. Thanks Stacey and Tanya! I love Gettysburb, Stacey and, while no one can top Gone With the Wind, there are so many variations on the Civil War theme, I think authors can come up with many stories that will all be unique. We just have to get readers reading them and editors contracting them.

  4. Oop, Susan,
    I think I’ve done this twice.I have been having trtouble with blogging of late. So I will send this any way. Congratulations wonderful exceprt and I love the concept of the story.
    Cheers
    Margaret

  5. Great excerpt, sounds like a wonderful read, even though I am an Aussie, I love civil war stories, you can blame that on Gone With The Wind.

    I’ve been an avid reader of your blog for a long time . I liked this
    article & request you to write more articles of your interest.

    this blog has some real indepth articles & i’d recommend these highly
    to some of my blog readers too . please let me know your reviews on my
    blog http://newscandals.blogspot.com . This is a blog dedicated on
    latest news & latest scandals from across US, UK

  6. Susan, being a Southerner myself, I like stories set in this time period, and my pseudonym writes about a later, more contemporary South. The story sounds great. I’ll look for it!

  7. This books sounds amazing! I am passionate about historicals and love, love, love Civil War stories. Congrats on the release. Hope it hits the top of the list in record time. Brenda

Leave a Reply

