Slip Into Something Victorian

Home » Civil War » Civil War vampires, anyone?

Civil War vampires, anyone?

It’s always fun coming up with a new twist on a romance genre. I did that with my short vampire story, Eternity Waits by setting my vampire tale in a Civil War camp. I’d always wanted to write a vampire story and that was my first.
So, what else to do, but set another vampire story during the Civil War. And I’m happy to say, I just returned the contract to The Wild Rose Press for my new story, Sweet Redemption. We’ll start edits on it shortly.
In the meantime, I thought I’d talk about how this story differs from Eternity Waits. For one thing, the vampire in this story is the villain. The hero is a Union infantry captain, who once was a Catholic priest, but left the Church years ago. He’s always felt guilt for deserting his vows. When the story opens, he’s attacked by a vampire. He manages to make it to the farm, where a Confederate widow takes him in. The problem is, the vampire is still stalking him to make him what he is, and he also takes interest in the widow, who our hero is falling in love with. As the hero starts to exhibit vampire tendencies, he’s afraid, instead of protecting her from the vampire, he’ll be more of a threat to her himself. What’s a hero do do?
Here’s the blurb and a short unedited excerpt.
On a cold December night, Union infantry captain, Jonathan Hackett, is pinned down on the Fredericksburg battlefield trying to escape Confederate fire. But a creature of the night, more dangerous than any enemy soldier, stalks him. Jon must fight for his life as well as his soul.
Maddie Emery has lost everything dear to her. Her husband and parents have passed on and her brothers are off fighting in the Confederate Army. She’s alone, trying single-handedly to hold onto her family’s farm, when a Yankee soldier collapses across her stoop.

Maddie and Jon form a bond of love and desire, but as Jon exhibits signs of becoming the creature he fears most, is their love enough to fight off the evil of a centuries old vampire bent on destroying them?

 

At first she held her lips firm, then opened allowing him to explore the velvety insides of her mouth. Encouraged, he leaned into her, and she yielded beneath him, sighing softly as she reclined on the settee. He pulled the pins, releasing her hair into a silken veil trailing over her bodice. He cupped one of her lush breasts through the fabric of her gown and she moaned in response. Encouraged, he adjusted his body over hers, his arousal growing.

She gazed up at him, eyes half-closed in passion. He focused on her throat and the steadily beating pulse. He pushed a strand of hair back and fixated on the soft, white skin, gaze drawn to the pulse point. His lips grazed the spot, the beat and scent driving him mad. He had the overwhelming urge to bite. His mouth distended.

An image of what Arnwolf had done to him in the barn, made him jerk back. His heart pounded as he traced his finger along his teeth. Two sharp, pointed fangs had taken the place of his canines. He rose from the settee and howled, backing away.

Mrs. Emery stared at him.

He turned away, so she wouldn’t see. What had he become?

 

 

 

 

 


10 Comments

  1. Judith says:

    Oh, nice excerpt, Susan. This story has me intrigued! Vampires and the civil war. I love them both. Is the book out all ready? Where can I get it?

    Hugs,
    Judith

  2. Thanks, Judith! And no, I just sent back the contract this week, so it’ll have to go through edits. And it’s a short story, about 70 ms pages, so I’m not sure how long the final version will be, but it’ll be available from The Wild Rose Press as a download.

    Don’t know when yet.

  3. Judith says:

    Cool! Please keep me posted. I want it! You can email me at judithleger@hotmail.com. Thanks and wishing you the very best!

    I too am in the middle of my edits for two stories with TWRP. One is a full length and the other is a short, about the same length as yours.

  4. I’ll keep you posted, Judith. Best of luck with your edits!

  5. Helen Hardt says:

    Susan, what a refreshingly unique premise. I don’t think I’ve ever read a Civil War vampire story before. I’d love to read yours!

  6. Isabel Roman says:

    Ooh, very nice! And what a cool conflict! I can’t wait to read it.

  7. Mary Ricksen says:

    Vampires in the Civil War! That’s a great premise.
    This looks like it is such a cool book!
    Good luck.

  8. Thanks, Helen, Isabel and Mary! It was a lot of fun to write and will be companion to my other short CW vampire story, Eternity Waits.

  9. Wow! Vampires AND a Civil War setting…two of my favorite things…I can’t wait to read this one!

  10. Thanks for commenting, Debra! I like to write about things I’ve always wanted to read, but can’t find.

Leave a Reply

