Slip Into Something Victorian

Home » Uncategorized » Professionalism

Professionalism

I’m supposed to blog today! I’m on vacation in Puerto Rico! (I know, I know, no sympathy, I’ll get over it I’m sure.) But the point is I have nothing. So I thought I’d throw this out. Recently on another group we were discussing professionalism and what to do when you encounter unprofessional people attacking YOU.

My response was clear. Counter it IF you can in a professional way that won’t spark another argument or won’t be seen as defensive. If not, ignore it and counter it on other places without mentioning the original attacker. I firmly believe this.

I’m sure if it was me or a friend being attacked, I’d want to fight back. That’s fine but doing so on the original blog, group, site, whatever isn’t the way.

So my question to you is: How do you counter unprofessional people? What do you do if they attack you or a friend?

And now, back to editing. I AM working down here. HONEST!

2 Comments

  1. Working huh? LOL. Must be hard to concentrate. I can just imagine you lolling on a beach.

    I think you have to be very careful about blogging or posting anything on the internet you don’t want to come back and haunt you. I’d prefer to allow the unprofessional people to show themselves up for the fools they are. After all, if they’re blogging, it’s all out there for everyone to see.

  2. Isabel Roman says:

    After all, if they’re blogging, it’s all out there for everyone to see.

    Too true, Susan! And no matter how hard you try to take it down, it’s always somewhere.

Leave a Reply

