Slip Into Something Victorian

Home » Australia » My fellow human

My fellow human

I had a blog on Mount Washington & the Cog Railroad I was going to expand on from Unusual Historicals, but maybe next time. Today’s blog is about present day and my own introspection. Please bear with me. It’s not often I share my thoughts with others, my opinion yes, but not something like this. I promise, to resume my normally scheduled cynicism.

Anyone who knows me, or has read any blog I’ve done, knows I’m a cynic. I mock and laugh, I shake my head knowingly. I don’t have a lot of faith in my fellow man or woman to do the right thing, to think for themselves, to act with any honor whatsoever.

This week has changed that. I’m sure I’ll go back to the cynic I am, but today I want to take a moment to reflect on those who do do the right thing. Who help, who don’t ask for anything back, who don’t demand movie deals or book deals or money for a 60 Minutes interview, who don’t blow things up to change my mind or shout at me until I’ll do the exact opposite because I can’t stand to hear them talk one more second. (Yes, I’m contrary that way. I know it. I admit it. I probably won’t change it.)

Australia is ravaged by terrible fires that have killed almost 200 people, destroyed lives and towns, devastated wildlife, and may have been set by arsons. I feel for those people, I can’t imagine what it’s like to lose everything and have no hope of getting any of it back. Ever. They deserve more than our sorrow or pity, they deserve our help.

Then I saw a photo (as I’m sure many of you have) of the firefighter offering water to a koala. It choked me all up and for a little while I remembered that not everyone is as selfish as I think they are. This man, David Tree, took the time to help the now named female koala Sam. He looks like he could use a break, a bottle of water himself, and yet he’s taking the time to help Sam. Ten minutes maybe? And yet this act wasn’t for nothing. It was kind and selfless and we need more of that in our lives. More moments when we help another creature, human or animal.

And that’s my moment of introspection. My moment to remind myself that I should take those five minutes, they really aren’t going to change MY life, but they may change another’s. And that’s my soap box for the day. Do something nice, even if it’s not shouting at that grocery clerk because they rang an item up twice, or the woman at Macy’s who isn’t going as fast as you think she should. Bite your tongue, remember to smile, breathe deeply and let your own stress melt away…or at least fade for the moment.

Thanks for reading.

Pict from AP

3 Comments

  1. Nicely said, Isabel and what a moving picture. Thanks for sharing.

  2. Something for all of us to think about as we rush through our busy lives, Isabel. Take a few minutes to do something nice for another.

  3. Marywin says:

    From an Australian – thank you!

Leave a Reply

