• Coming This Week

  • Victorian Quote of the Day

    She was not quite what you would call refined. She was not quite what you would call unrefined. She was the kind of person that keeps a parrot.
    Mark Twain

  • The Scandalous Vics

  • Want to Guest Blog With Us?

    Victorian-era authors are welcome to contact us about guest blogging opportunities by emailing Isabel at isabel@isabelroman.com

    (all victorian genres welcome, fiction and non-fiction, including Westerns)

  • Pages

  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,502 other followers

  • Facebook

  • Meta

#Guest Cynthia Owens

Hi Victorians, and thank you for having me today. I’m thrilled to be returning to Slip Into Something Victorian, and I’m happy to be talking about both my new novel, Deceptive Hearts, Book I of The Wild Geese Series, and an item that plays a very important part in my story: the Derringer.

Deceptive Hearts is set in New York City in 1865, in both elegant Gramercy Park and the Five Points, where my hero, Shane MacDermott grew up – and where my heroine, Lydia Daniels, visits on a regular basis. Lydia is determined to save the girls and women there from their abusive fathers and husband, no matter the risk to herself.

“Jamie brought word of another one.”

Alex tensed. “Where?”

“Five Points. Again.” Lydia’s lips twisted. “Apparently the combination of joblessness and Guinness makes a man…difficult.”

Difficult. The age-old euphemism. Alex nodded. “What’s her name?”

“Nan Daly.” Squaring her shoulders, Lydia vowed, “I am going there first thing tomorrow.”

“Not alone!”

Lydia’s mouth set into a stubborn line. “I must Alex. You know I have to.”

“At least take Jamie with you.”

Lydia shook her head, capturing Alex’s hand in hers and giving it a quick squeeze. “You know how hard it is to win the trust of these women. Jamie will drive me, stand by me if I need him, but I must see her alone. He might intimidate her. Do not worry,” she added. “I shall be perfectly safe.” She waved a shaky hand in the direction of the little locked drawer in her night table. “I will be armed.”

The Derringer is Lydia’s weapon of choice when she ventures into the Five Points, a notorious area of New York City dominated by run-down tenements and desperate immigrants.

A Derringer was a tiny handgun frequently used by women because of its ease of concealment. It was not a repeating gun, which would add size and bulk to the weapon. The original cartridge Derringer held only a single round, and the barrel pivoted sideways on the frame to allow access to the breech for reloading. These pocket pistols were tiny enough to be carried in a woman’s reticule or stocking and proved good protection for the city’s prostitutes. Though not very powerful, the bullet’s slow speed made them more dangerous.

The most important feature of a Derringer—both for Lydia and for the woman on the street—is that, though the bullet moved slowly enough to be seen in flight, at close range it could easily kill.

Blurb:
…Like the Wild Geese of Old Ireland, five boys grew to manhood despite hunger, war, and the mean streets of New York…

He survived war, and returned to devastation

A hero of the Irish Brigade, Shane MacDermott returned home to New York to find his family decimated and his world shattered.

She risks her life to save the people she loves

Lydia Daniels will risk anything to protect the women she shelters beneath the roof of her elegant Gramercy Park mansion—even if she has to trust the one man who can destroy her.

Shane and Lydia both hide secrets that could destroy them – and put their lives in jeopardy. Can their love overcome their carefully guarded deceptive hearts?

Excerpt:
“We meet again.” Shane kept his voice quiet so as not to frighten Mary Kate any further. He let his gaze rest on her for a long silent moment. He’d learnedDeceptive_Hearts long ago that a piercing stare would make the guilty guiltier. Kieran once told him his stare could cut right though a Reb line to the plantation they were set to defend.

“So we do, Officer…?” Lydia let her sentence trail off, obviously hoping he would offer the information she sought.

Ah, no, my lovely one. Not yet.

He kept his gaze on her face. “May I ask what you are doing—here?” Satisfaction gripped him as her lashes flickered and her hands clutched the folds of her gown more tightly. “The Five Points is hardly a neighborhood for a gently-bred young woman such as yourself to be taking a stroll.”

Behind him, Mary Kate’s breath caught on a sob. But he couldn’t spare her a look. Not yet. “What business have you with this young lady, Mrs…?”

Her chin jerked up, her eyes snapping as she refused the bait. Reluctant admiration curled in the pit of his stomach. He watched in fascination as she moved to place a gentle hand on the girl’s shoulder. “It is all right, Mary Kate. I understand why you feel you cannot leave your father.” To Shane, she said defensively, “I offered Mary Kate a position in my household, officer. I thought it might improve her circumstances.”

Buy Links:
Amazon

Barnes and Noble

Smashwords

The Book Depository

Books-A-Million

 About Cynthia:
I believe I was destined to be interested in history. One of my distant ancestors, Thomas Aubert, reportedly sailed up the St. Lawrence River to discover Canada some 26 years before Jacques Cartier’s 1534 voyage. Another relative was a 17thCentury “King’s Girl,” one of a group of young unmarried girls sent to New France (now the province of  Quebec) as brides for the habitants (settlers) there.

My passion for reading made me long to write books like the ones I enjoyed, and I tried penning sequels to my favorite Nancy Drew mysteries. Later, fancying myself a female version of Andrew Lloyd Weber, I drafted a musical set in Paris during WWII.

A former journalist and lifelong Celtophile, I enjoyed a previous career as a reporter/editor for a small chain of community newspapers before returning to my first love, romantic fiction. My stories usually include an Irish setting, hero or heroine, and sometimes all three. I’m the author of The Claddagh Series, historical romances set in Ireland and beyond. The first three books in The Claddagh Series, In Sunshine or in Shadow, Coming Home, and Playing For Keeps, are all available from Highland Press.Deceptive Hearts, the first book in The Wild Geese Series, has just been released, and Book II, Keeper of the Light, will soon be released from Highland Press.

I am a member of the Romance Writers of America, Hearts Through History Romance Writers, and Celtic Hearts Romance Writers. A lifelong resident of Montreal, Canada, I still live there with my own Celtic hero and our two teenaged children.

Where to find Cynthia:

Website
Facebook
Twitter

 

13 Responses

  1. Hi Victorians, and thanks so much for hosting me today! I look forward to meeting some of you today!

  2. […] visiting the Scandalous Victorians blog today, talking about DECEPTIVE HEARTS and a certain weapon that belongs to my heroine, Lydia […]

  3. Hi, Cynthia! Loved the post and excerpts. Besides the Civil War, the years immediately following are my favorite in American history. So much was going on and so many stories can evolve from a variety of exciting settings. I used a Derringer in one of my books–think it was Cassidy’s War.

  4. Hi Susan, glad you enjoyed my post. Yes, the years after the Civil War were a fascinating time. I’m not really much on guns personally, but if anyone needed protection, it’s Lydia Daniels. Thanks for visiting with me today! :)

  5. This sounds excellent. I am fascinated by Five Points!

  6. Hi Denise, thank you! Hope you’ll enjoy Deceptive Hearts! :)

  7. Wonderful excerpt, Cynthia! I love all things Irish and Celtic. Nice to know we share similar interests.

  8. Loved the excerpt!! Tweeted.

  9. Lyn, so pleased you enjoyed the excerpt! I’ve been in love with everything Irish for as long as I can remember, and it’s a love affair I don’t think will ever end! Thanks for visiting! :)

  10. Glad you enjoyed it, Ella! Thanks for the Tweet, and thanks for dropping by! :)

  11. Cynthia, sorry to be so late commenting. Best wishes for continued success with your books.

  12. Hi Caroline, better late than never! Thanks for visiting, and a big thank you for your good wishes!

  13. By now you also should have received quality scores for your ads.
    When selecting a product there are some things you should look for, the price of the product as well as the percentage on commissions, this is very important because everybody
    is looking for a great return on there time and investment.
    Can you create websites that look like pros
    slaved away on them for months.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,502 other followers

