• Coming This Week

  • Victorian Quote of the Day

    She was not quite what you would call refined. She was not quite what you would call unrefined. She was the kind of person that keeps a parrot.
    Mark Twain

  • The Scandalous Vics

  • Want to Guest Blog With Us?

    Victorian-era authors are welcome to contact us about guest blogging opportunities by emailing Isabel at isabel@isabelroman.com

    (all victorian genres welcome, fiction and non-fiction, including Westerns)

  • Pages

  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,502 other followers

  • Facebook

  • Meta

Guest: Patty Henderson

Today the Scandalous Vics would like to welcome Patty Henderson. Patty writes Gothic Victorian romances with a twist: the intrepid heroine is a lesbian. Please welcome Patty as she talks about her newest release, Passion for Vengeance.

About Patty:

After writing four books in the Brenda Strange Supernatural Mysteries series and one vampire book, I have Imagefound a genre that I absolutely and thoroughly enjoy. As a history buff, I can finally immerse myself completely in the fantasy world of dark, brooding castles and mansions, walking hallways by the light of a single candle, and spinning tales of lovely women stumbling across deadly secrets and meeting and falling in love with mysterious mistresses of decaying estates. What fun.

I hope you can come and discover my Gothic Historical Romances and share some of the fun I have writing them. All three of my Gothic Romances are available in paperback via Amazon.com and in eBook at Amazon.com and ePub versions at Barnes and Noble.com. And aside from my writing, I am also a graphics professional and book cover creator. If any of you who are self-published are in need of a book cover, I offer the best rates in the market for a complete trade paperback cover or eBook cover. I’ve provided the link to my graphics web site, Boulevard Photografica.

I want to take the time to thank Isabel (Patty, you’re always welcome!) for letting me escape my dark castle and come here to Slip Into Something Victorian and talk about my books. I’ve included some links below. Come and say hello at my Facebook page, my web site or Twitter.

LINKS:

Facebook

Twitter

Author Website

Book Covers

Gothic Romances. Some of us remember those paperback racks in the late 1960s and 1970s filled with Gothic Romances, all of them resplendent with covers mostly featuring a heroine running from a menacing castle or decaying mansion. The plots were truly romances, some set in current times while others were historicals set in Victorian times. All of them contained a dashing, mostly brooding dark hero, sometimes coming across as an unsavory character only to be revealed as the knight in shining armor, and our intrepid heroine. Gothic Romances were always filled with a sense of foreboding and dripped with atmosphere and suspense. But they always remained true to the romance.

I write Gothic Historical Romance, mainly set in the Victorian years, but with a big….big difference. The dark, dashing hero is a heroine. Girl meets and gets girl. I keep all the trappings of the traditional Gothic Historical Romance, but the romance is between two women. I write in the lesbian fiction niche. A very small, but vibrant and thriving niche. The readers are voracious and demand quality fiction from the authors who write lesbian fiction.

I’ve written and published three Gothic Historical Romances, The Secret of Lighthouse Pointe, Castle of Dark Shadows, and my very latest, Passion for Vengeance. The latest Gothic tackles a darker and deeper subject matter and was the hardest of the three romances to write. All three come to happy and satisfactory endings for the reader and for the characters, but in Passion for Vengeance, the path is more painful and more fragile. I had to pull some of my own and deeply buried personal issues of loss of faith, strength in faith, salvation and forgiveness. The problems of seeing only gray and white, good and bad, is also a topic I deal with all these in Passion for Vengeance.

Some of my Gothic Historical Romances have crossed into mainstream Romance readers, gaining sales and reviews from mainstream readers and not only lesbian readers. While I recognize that reading a sexy Romance with two women instead of the hero and heroine may not be everyone’s cup of tea, some are enjoying my Gothic Romances and for that, I am delighted, and hope many more might give them a try.

Here is the blurb for my newest Gothic Historical Romance, Passion for Vengeance:

It’s been a long time since Jane Havens, Mistress of Havenswood, felt the joy and promise of by-gone days when her family home, Havenswood, was a thriving and powerfulImage farming estate. Together with her elder brother Cole, who drowns his sorrow in alcohol, Jane does what she can to lead the fading estate through the hard times that fell upon the family after their father, a Union Army Colonel, died shortly after the Civil War.

    Jane and Cole try to raise their little brother, Henry, a wild young boy with no direction, no manners and no one to marshal his considerable natural abilities into a productive, young gentleman. But when his new governess, Emma Stiles, arrives, the whole household goes into shock as Henry shapes up, Cole doubles down on the amount of drink he consumes to drown his failures, and Jane Havens falls madly in love with her little brother’s governess. Then the trouble begins.

    Accidents begin to happen to the residents of Havenswood—incidents that increase in seriousness and danger. Some within the household point fingers at Emma Stiles. Jane will not believe her new lover has anything to do with the terrifying accidents until a chance visit by a new doctor in town raises the specter that Emma Stiles may not be quite who she seems. As the reality of Emma’s tortured soul descends upon Havenswood and Jane, it is clear that the demons of vengeance can only be saved by love and forgiveness. Or is it too late for forgiveness and too late for love?

    Set in the tumultuous decade after the Civil War, Passion for Vengeance is a Gothic Romance tale of betrayal, revenge, love and forgiveness.

 Where to buy Passion for Vengeance:

Amazon
Barnes and Noble

10 Responses

  1. Patty, I cut my teeth on those old Gothic romances. They were the first I’d ever read until I was much older and discovered time travel romances. This sounds like a wonderful story! Best of luck with it!

  2. Thank you so much, Susan, for taking the moment to read and respond to my Guest Blog. I also grew up scouring those paperback racks. I am having lots of fun and hope that enthusiasm comes through in my books.

  3. Me, too, Susan. I still have quite a few Gothic romances on my shelves. I love the mysteries involved in dark, mysterious places. We’re so glad to have you visit us today.Best of luck to you, Patty, in lots of sales. I love your cover!

  4. Absolutely loved those gothic romances! Love the mystery most of all. Good luck Patty. And I agree with Paisley, on the beautiful coveer.

  5. Thank you for your lovely comments, Paisley and Denise. I created the book cover myself. I not only write but also create custom book covers for authors and small publishers. The link to my book cover web site is not working, but if anyone is interested, it is: http://www.boulevardphotografica.yolasite.com. If you happen to be in need of a book cover, please check me out. Again, thank you for reading my Guest Blog and commenting.

  6. Thanks so much for dropping by, Patty! I fixed your links ;)

  7. Thank you so much, Isabel. You have been a sweetheart.

  8. [...] Guest: Patty Henderson (slipintosomethingvictorian.wordpress.com) [...]

  9. I love the feel of the old Gothics, even if I’m just learning about them, (or relearning, if reading a Victoria Holt years ago counts), thanks to Patty. Thanks for this interesting post and look into Patty’s world!

  10. Thanks for finally writing about >Guest: Patty Henderson | Slip Into Something Victorian <Loved it!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,502 other followers

