• Coming This Week

  • Victorian Quote of the Day

    She was not quite what you would call refined. She was not quite what you would call unrefined. She was the kind of person that keeps a parrot.
    Mark Twain

  • The Scandalous Vics

  • Want to Guest Blog With Us?

    Victorian-era authors are welcome to contact us about guest blogging opportunities by emailing Isabel at isabel@isabelroman.com

    (all victorian genres welcome, fiction and non-fiction, including Westerns)

  • Pages

  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,497 other followers

  • Facebook

  • Meta

The Capture of New Orleans

Close to 150 years ago today New Orleans was captured by the Union army during the American Civil War. Abraham Lincoln ordered a blockade of the Southern coast on April 19, 1862.

Command of Forts Jackson and St. Philip fell under the command of Brigadier General Johnston K. Duncan. Major General Mansfield Lovell commanded Confederate defenses.

Union Naval officer, David Glasgow Farragut, advanced his boats commanded by David D. Porter, Farragut’s step brother. Six days of bombardment ensued, including an expedition sent to cut a chain stretched across the river.

Farragut’s fleet blazed forward, firing as they raced by the forts. On April 25, 1862, Farragut accepted the surrender of the city of New Orleans. With his boat anchored off the port, Union infantry, under command of Major General Benjamin Butler occupied the city.

For more details, visit these sites:
http://www.historyofwar.org/articles/battles_new_orleans_1862.html
http://www.nndb.com/people/050/000094765/

For info on my new Civil War romance, Cole’s Promise, visit my website http://susanmacatee.com

 

10 Responses

  1. Wonderful post, Susan. You are a treasure trove of historical information. Best wishes for mega sales! You deserve them.

  2. Thanks, Caroline!

  3. You just gave me a college flashback. I went to The George Washington University, and Farragut Square bordered our campus (Farragut West was our metro stop). Thanks for the historical tidbit. I have to confess that though I walked past his statue many times, in the typical teenage fashion, I never paid much attention to who he was.

  4. Hi, Ally! I think we miss a lot of our history, until something’s pointed out. I’m learning a lot myself researching these ‘this day in Civil War history’ posts.

  5. Another interesting piece of history, Susan. I can see why you write about this time period. The stories are never ending.

  6. Thanks, Paisley! With the war going on for four years, so much happened that we never learned in history class.

  7. I read all the blogs here and loved the historical factoids. I can’t imagine wearing all those clothes in 90 degree humid weather. Ugh! I think the cover for Cole’s Promise is just fabulous and it certainly loooks like a wonderful story.
    I wish the very best, Susan.

  8. Hi, Sarah and thanks! As a reenactor, I actually have worn all those clothes as well as my husband, who did the military side. It’s amazing those men were able to fight and endure the heat in all the layers they wore. It wasn’t just women’s clothes.

  9. Great post. I recently visited New Orleans–I highly recommend it.

  10. Thanks, Angelyn! Never been there myself.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,497 other followers

