• Coming This Week

  • Victorian Quote of the Day

    She was not quite what you would call refined. She was not quite what you would call unrefined. She was the kind of person that keeps a parrot.
    Mark Twain

  • The Scandalous Vics

  • Want to Guest Blog With Us?

    Victorian-era authors are welcome to contact us about guest blogging opportunities by emailing Isabel at isabel@isabelroman.com

    (all victorian genres welcome, fiction and non-fiction, including Westerns)

  • Pages

  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,497 other followers

  • Facebook

  • Meta

FUDGE FOR CHRISTMAS

 

Just last week I came across the large old red White Swan storage tin my mom always used to keep her candy fresh, separating layers with waxed paper. She would make batch after batch of divinity fudge and chocolate fudge to give to my brother’s family and mine, with little packages of divinity for her granddaughters. Once the White Swan container was filled, she had old Collin Street Bakery (of Corsicana, Texas) fruitcake tins she used. I’ve washed and polished these because today is candy making day at our house. Yum! My Hero husband is standing by to taste test–wouldn’t want any substandard candy going to neighbors, now would we? 

My mom was not that great a cook overall, but she made truly wonderful pies and candies! Her family-famous divinity fudge is more than I can master. I have no idea what I do wrong, but it never tastes as good as hers did. She usually lightly colored half the divinity with red food coloring so it was pale pink. When I was a small girl, I was always certain the pink tasted better than the plain white! When we lived in California, Mother used walnuts, but switched back to pecans in Texas.

 I also make my Aunt Elizabeth’s Million Dollar Fudge. I’ll share both recipes with you, as well as tell you about a wonderful recipe book free from The Wild Rose Press.

                AUNT ELIZABETH’S

         MILLION DOLLAR FUDGE

 

Aunt Elizabeth added the nuts

to the fudge, but this looks yummy!

 

4 1/2 cups sugar

6 tablespoons butter

1 large can evaporated milk (12 1/2 oz)

1-12oz. package chocolate chips

1 jar marshmallow crème

Nuts chopped

 

1. Pour chocolate chips and marshmallow creme into a large bowl. (My aunt used a crockery bowl)

 

2. Boil sugar, butter, milk together for 7 minutes after first bubbles come, or until soft ball stage is reached. Take it off stove and pour syrup over chocolate chips and marshmallow creme.

 

3. Stir until chocolate is dissolved. Add nuts if desired. Beat until cool and creamy. Pour onto a buttered pan.

 

4. Cool and cut. Keep with waxed paper between layers and store in airtight container until served.


This candy is suitable for vegetarians provided you insure the marshmallow creme does not contain animal products as marshmallows do.

 

             MAMAW’S

      DIVINITY  FUDGE

Divinity Fudge (photo from

www.ChoosingVoluntarySimplicty.com

but this looks just like my mom’s)

 

2 cups sugar

1/2 cup whie Karo syrup

2 large egg whites, beaten stiff

1/2 cup water

1/8 teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon Adam’s Best vanilla

1/8 tspn. cream of tartar

1/2 cup finely chopped pecans or walnuts

Food coloring optional

 

Beat egg whites until stiff and set aside. Cook sugar, Karo, water, salt and cream of tartar until it forms a hard ball in cold water. Pour over stiffly beaten egg whites. Add vanilla, nuts, and coloring if desired. Beat and pour into a lightly buttered bowl to harden. When cool, cut into squares and store in an air-tight container.

 

          

 

The Wild Rose Press has a gift for all readers who love to cook at http://www.thewildrosepress.com/ to download the pdf cookbook. Due to my daughter’s hospitalization, I missed the deadline for this year’s book, but included in the 2011 edition are delicious-sounding recipes by some of my favorite authors. 

             

 Thanks for stopping by!

One Response

  1. Looks positively yummy, Caroline! I plan to make fudge too. I do every year. But I make plain old chocolate and chocolate/walnut. I also used to make batches of cookies, but I’ve gotten lazy over the years now that my boys are all grown. I cheat and use the ready make chocolate chip cookie dough, because my family loves chocolate chip cookies the best.

    Haven’t started baking anything yet, but I have to get to it soon. lol

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,497 other followers

